• ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) -- Florida Prosecutor’s Anti-Death Penalty Stand Surprises Many | AP

2016 C Spire Conerly Trophy to be Awarded on Nov. 29 in Clarksdale

JACKSON, Miss., (FNN SPORTS) By C Spire — The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and C Spire will return to Clarksdale, Mississippi, on Tuesday, Nov. 29, to present the 2016 C Spire Conerly Trophy, which annually honors the state’s best college football player.  Clarksdale is the hometown of the award’s namesake, Charlie Conerly.

The C Spire Conerly Trophy has been awarded since 1996, with this year marking its 21st anniversary.  The award is named in honor of the late Charlie Conerly, former Ole Miss and New York Giants quarterback. Conerly, a Clarksdale native, was an All-American at Ole Miss and a Pro Bowl standout for the Giants who led New York to three NFL Championship games and one NFL Championship.

Past winners of the C Spire Conerly Trophy have included such former and current NFL standouts as Deuce McAllister, Eli Manning, Jerious Norwood, Michael Boley, Patrick Willis, Anthony Dixon, Austin Davis and Dak Prescott.

C Spire has sponsored the C Spire Outstanding Player Series since 1998.  The series includes the C Spire Conerly Trophy for football, the C Spire Howell-Gillom Trophies for men’s and women’s college basketball, and the C Spire Ferriss Trophy for the top college baseball player.  The Museum and C Spire do not nominate or vote for any of the finalists.  All of Mississippi’s four-year schools nominate the athletes and print and electronic news media (football and basketball) representatives or Major League scouts and college coaches (baseball) select the winners.

“We’re proud to bring the Conerly Trophy back to its roots in Clarkdale for this 21st anniversary celebration,” said Hu Meena, president and CEO of C Spire. “As a young boy growing up in Clarksdale, Charlie Conerly was a hero of mine. This award was created in his honor by the Conerly family to remember him and his accomplishments and to recognize Mississippi’s top college football player of the year. It’s always exciting and an honor to see who will be named the recipient each year.”

The 21st annual C Spire Conerly Trophy presentation is scheduled on Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the Clarksdale Country Club. A 5:30 p.m. reception will be followed by the trophy presentation at 6:30 p.m. For ticket information, please contact the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum at 1-800-280-FAME (3263), 601-982-8264 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Orlando Officials Opens New Police Headquarters

ORLANDO, Fla (FNN NEWS) - Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer, City Commissioners and Police Chief John Mina…

Cities Congratulate Dr. Ben Carson on Confirmation as HUD Secretary

WASHINGTON, -- Today, the U.S. Senate confirmed the appointment of Ben Carson as the 16th…

"March 4 Trump" Rally To Take Place In Orlando Saturday

ORLANDO, Fla (FNN NEWS) – A celebratory peaceful program and march supporting President Donald J.…


AARP Launches New Health & Wellness Digital Magazine

WASHINGTON, (FNN NEWS) By AAPR -- Take charge of your health with AARP The Magazine's Special Edition Health & Wellness Issue, the only digital health magazine for people ages 50-plus. The issue unveiled today offers inspirational advice and practical tips to help you get fit, eat better and live a…

NSA Knocks Down WH Claim of British Spying

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The latest on a congressional inquiry into Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election (all times local): 11:25 a.m. Mike Rogers, the director of the National Security Agency, is denying that the British intelligence community was ever asked to conduct electronic surveillance on President Donald Trump at the behest…

Florida Prosecutor's Anti-Death Penalty Stand Surprises Many

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) -- The Florida prosecutor who thrust herself into the forefront of the anti-death penalty movement is a political novice who was elected just seven months ago. Aramis Ayala, a Democrat and former public defender and assistant state attorney, surprised many of her own supporters when she announced this…


Magic Founder Jimmy Hewitt Set Be Inducted Into Orlando Magic's…

ORLANDO, Fla. (FNN SPORTS) – Today, the Orlando Magic announed that it will induct Orlando Magic “founding father” Jimmy Hewitt into its Hall of Fame on March 29. Hewitt becomes the sixth inductee into the Orlando Magic Hall of Fame. Other inductees are: Nick Anderson, Pat Williams, Shaquille O'Neal, Rich DeVos and Penny Hardaway. Team's Statement Hewitt, an Orlando native, was the architect for…

Orlando Officials Opens New Police Headquarters

ORLANDO, Fla (FNN NEWS) - Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer, City Commissioners and Police Chief John Mina opens the $50 million Orlando Police Department headquarters with a ceremonial ribbon cutting at the corner of South Street and Orange Blossom Trail in Parramore Wednesday morning. Orlando Police Chief John Mina stands in the 400 seat community room at Orlando Police…

Danny Eslick Wins 3rd Daytona 200

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (FNN PORTS) – Danny Eslick used a classic slingshot move coming out of NASCAR Turn 4 to pass Cory West on the last lap Saturday and win the DAYTONA 200 motorcycle classic for the third time. Eslick, riding the No. 69 TOBC Racing Yamaha 600, traded the lead repeatedly with West’s No. 13 Trackside Suspension and Engineering Yamaha…


Enrique Iglesias And Pitbull Live! Sharing The Stage For Co-Headlining…

LOS ANGELES, (FNN NEWS) -- Two of music's most captivating live performers will share the stage this summer when multi-platinum selling and multiple Grammy Award-winning global superstars Enrique Iglesias and Pitbull reunite for a co-headlining tour with CNCO as support, announced today. Adored by fans and critics alike, the celebrated duo and longtime friends…













2016 DAYTONA 500