• MEMO | WASHINGTON (FNN NEWS) - Nancy Pelosi Warns of Constitutional Crisis if Trump Uses Nunes Memo To Justify Firing Rosenstein Or Mueller


DAYTONA 500 Champion Kurt Busch to Serve as Honorary Chairman At 2017 MSHFA Induction Ceremony

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (FNN SPORTS) — Kurt Busch, the 2017 DAYTONA 500 champion and former champion of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, will serve as the Honorary Chairman  for the 29th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) Induction Ceremony at the Shores Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach on June 28.

Busch – driver of the No. 41 Haas Automation/Monster Energy Ford for Stewart-Haas Racing – also served as Honorary Chairman in 2011. In addition to NASCAR competition, Busch has competed in the Indianapolis 500, the Rolex 24 At Daytona and NHRA Pro Stock drag racing. In addition, he and his brother Kyle represented the United States in the global “Race of Champions,” earlier this year, finishing second. Collectively, that makes Busch a perfect fit for the role of Honorary Chairman, as the MSHFA honors all forms of American motorsports.

I’m very thankful for the pioneers that helped pave the way to create the sport that we love and enjoy today,” Busch said. “And to have the opportunity to honor this group of inductees as Honorary Chairman is an opportunity I didn’t want to miss.”

This year’s ceremony will induct seven racing legends:

Steve Kinser (Open Wheel Category): The “King of the Outlaws” is one of the most successful Sprint Car drivers in history, with 577 World of Outlaw feature victories, 20 WoO championships and 12 Knoxville Nationals championships.

Richard ‘Dick’ Klamfoth (Motorcycles): Klamfoth burst onto the scene at the age of 20 in 1949 when he rode to victory in the DAYTONA 200 on his first attempt.  He won again in 1951 and ‘52 to become the first three-time winner of America’s most prestigious motorcycle race. 

Terry Labonte (Stock Car): In addition to winning the NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series championship in 1984 and ’96, the “Iron Man” broke Richard Petty’s record of 513 consecutive starts in 1996 and continued his streak until Aug. 5, 2000, 

Paula Murphy (Drag Racing): Murphy played a pivotal role in drag racing’s formative years, as the first woman licensed to drive a Funny Car and a successful match racer, driving an STP-sponsored ride for Andy Granatelli in an era when few drivers had sponsorships.

Scott Pruett (Sports Car): Pruett is one of America’s most successful sports car drivers, with 11 major titles from 1986-2013 in IMSA SCCA Trans-Am and the GRAND-Am Rolex Sports Car Series. He is a five-time Rolex 24 champion, sharing the all-time record with MSHFA inductee Hurley Haywood.

Herb Thomas (Historic): NASCAR’s first two-time premier series champion (1951 and ‘53) has the highest career winning percentage in Cup history (21.053%). Overall, he won 48 Cup events, 39 poles and was in a close battle for a third title when his career was cut short by injury.

Brock Yates (At Large): “The Assassin” was one of motorsports’ most respected authors and commentators. From his Car and Driver columns to his many books and several screenplays, the Cannonball Baker Sea-To-Shining-Sea Memorial Trophy Dash creator was one of a kind.

“It’s an outstanding class of inductees featuring pioneers, champions, record-breakers and innovators,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “And the presence of the 2017 DAYTONA 500 champion will help make this an induction for the ages.”

 SOURCE | Daytona International Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Vote Scheduled for Daycare Vehicle Child Safety Alarm Act

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.  (FNN NEWS) - State Senator Linda Stewart (D-Orlando) will present the Child Safety Alarm…

Gov. Scott to Travel to Puerto Rico February 5

ORLANDO, Fla. – Today, Governor Rick Scott announced that he will travel to Puerto Rico on…

Attorney General Bondi Backs Andrew Fay For Florida Public Service Commission Seat

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Pam Bondi today issued the following statement congratulating Special Counsel to the…

Gov. Scott Directs FDOT to Implement Evacuation and Fuel Capacity Improvements During Emergencies

ORLANDO, Fla. – Today, Governor Rick Scott directed the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to implement…






VIDEO: Black History Month Spotlight Bronze Kingdom Art Gallery Orlando

ORLANDO, Fla. (FNN NEWS) In celebration of Black History Month, Florida National News lifestyle reporter…

11 Little-Known Orlando Theme Park Experiences

ORLANDO, Fla., /Visit Orlando/ -- To celebrate the unparalleled collection of unique experiences that can be…

Busch Gardens Celebrates The Return Of Preschool Card With Sesame Street Safari Of Fun Pirate Parrrrrty!

TAMPA, Fla. – Back by popular demand, Florida preschoolers can now enjoy all Busch Gardens® Tampa…

SeaWorld Offers Free Admission for Florida Preschoolers

ORLANDO, Fla. – Now through December 31, 2018, Florida kids ages five and younger can…

Macklemore, Sean Paul and Fifth Harmony Among Stars Performing Live at Universal Orlando Resort’s 2018 Mardi Gras Celebration

ORLANDO, Fla. – Universal Orlando Resort today announced the headlining acts of its 2018 Mardi Gras…

Winners Announced for the 2018 Levitt AMP [Your City] Grant Awards

LOS ANGELES, (FNN NEWS) -- Today, the Mortimer & Mimi Levitt Foundation awarded $375,000 in matching grants…