• The 90th Academy Awards® will air LIVE OSCAR SUNDAY, March 4th, 2018 on the ABC Television Network
  • VIDEO | WASHINGTON (FNN NEWS) - Speaker Ryan Urges Support for ‘Bipartisan Budget Act’


NFL Celebrates High School Coaches At Pro Bowl

The NFL is recognizing high school coaches from around the country for playingrates an invaluable role in shaping the lives of their players on and off the field during PRO BOWL WEEK in Orlando. Through a series of programs, events and honorary ceremonies, the NFL will celebrate these coaches and their positive impact on the personal and professional growth of young athletes.

To show appreciation for the coaches that helped shape their lives and careers, as part of the “Thank You, Coach” initiative, Pro Bowl players have invited their high school football coach to Orlando to be a part of Pro Bowl Week celebrations. Coaches arrive in Orlando today and will attend a special player-coach luncheon on Saturday before being honored on the field at Camping World Stadium on Sunday prior to player introductions.

For the first time, all of the nominees for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award will be honored and participate in Pro Bowl Week events. The winner of the national award will be announced during the third quarter of the Pro Bowl game at Camping World Stadium on Sunday.

Over the weekend, the Shula Award Nominees and Thank You Coaches will attend the USA Football National Conference, the largest annual gathering of high school and youth football administrators and high school coaches in the U.S. Coaches will learn from and network with fellow coaches and those at the professional level. Super Bowl-winning (XXXV) Coach BRIAN BILLICK and former NFL Coach MIKE MARTZ are among the many coaches and former NFL players who will address this year’s participants on a range of topics, including coach education, player safety, program development and key trends.

A sampling of NFL Pro Bowl players and the high school coaches they’ve invited to Orlando who’ve played influential roles in their lives include:

*        CLIFF AVRIL and Coach JIM REAPE (Clay High School, FL),

*        ODELL BECKHAM JR. and Coach NELSON STEWART (Isidore Newman School, LA),

*        DEZ BRYANT and Coach BROOKE STAFFORD (Lufkin High School),

*        KIRK COUSINS and Coach DAN KAPENGA (Holand Christian School, MI),

*        THOMAS DAVIS and Coach JIM MCFATHER (Randolph Clay High School, GA),

*        KYLE JUSZCZYK and Coach DAVID WARD (Cloverleaf High School, OH),

*        GERALD MCCOY and Coach MICHAEL BRANCH (Southeast High School, OK),

*        VON MILLER and Coach DAVE MEADOWS (DeSoto High School, TX),

*        BRIAN ORAKPO and Coach LEE MALOWITZ (Lamar High School, TX),

*        DAK PRESCOTT and Coach RODNEY GUIN (Haughton High School, LA),

*        RICHARD SHERMAN and Coach KEITH DONERSON (Dominguez High School, CA) and

*        JOE THOMAS and Coach SCOTT NELSEN (Brookfield Central High School, WI).

Below is the full list of Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Nominees:

2016 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Nominees




Arizona Cardinals

Perry High School

Preston Jones

Atlanta Falcons

Tucker High School

Bryan Lamar

  • Baltimore RavensWalkersville High School

    Joe Polce

    Buffalo Bills

    Dunkirk High School

    Mike Sarratori

    Carolina Panthers

    Hilton Head School

    Russel ‘BJ’ Payne

    Chicago Bears

    Peoria High School

    Tim Thornton

    Cincinnati Bengals

    St. Xavier High School

    Steve Specht

    Cleveland Browns

    Lorain High School

    Dave McFarland

    Dallas Cowboys

    Highland Park High School

    Randy Allen

    Denver Broncos

    Strasburg High School

    Jeff Giger

    Detroit Lions

    Benton Harbor High School

    Elliot Uzelac

    Green Bay Packers

    Kimberly High School

    Steve Jones

    Houston Texans

    Ebbert L. Furr High School

    Matthew Valmore

    Indianapolis Colts

    Westfield High School

    Jake Gilbert

    Jacksonville Jaguars

    Ponte Vedra High School

    Matthew Toblin

    Kansas City Chiefs*

    Grain Valley High School

    Blue Valley High School

    David Allie

    Eric Driskell

    Los Angeles Rams

    Narbonne High School

    Manuel Douglas

    Miami Dolphins

    Carol City High School

    Aubrey Hill

    Minnesota Vikings

    Minneapolis North High School

    Charles Adams

    New England Patriots

    Millis High School

    Dana Olson

    New Orleans Saints

    Edna Karr High School

    Brice Brown

    New York Giants

    Cardinal Hayes High School

    CJ O’Neill

    New York Jets

    Curtis High School

    Peter Gambardella

    Oakland Raiders

    California School for the Deaf

    Warren Keller

    Philadelphia Eagles

    Perkiomen Valley High School

    Rob Heist

    Pittsburgh Steelers

    Thomas Jefferson High School

    Bill Cherpak

    San Diego Chargers

    Madison High School

    Rick Jackson

    San Francisco 49ers

    Saint Francis High School

    Greg Calcagno

    Seattle Seahawks

    Tumwater High School

    Sid Otton

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers

    St. Petersburg High School

    Joe Fabrizio

    Tennessee Titans

    Whitehaven High School

    Rodney Saulsberry

    Washington Redskins

    Quantico Middle/High School

    Paul Roy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Vote Scheduled for Daycare Vehicle Child Safety Alarm Act

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.  (FNN NEWS) - State Senator Linda Stewart (D-Orlando) will present the Child Safety Alarm…

Gov. Scott to Travel to Puerto Rico February 5

ORLANDO, Fla. – Today, Governor Rick Scott announced that he will travel to Puerto Rico on…

Attorney General Bondi Backs Andrew Fay For Florida Public Service Commission Seat

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Pam Bondi today issued the following statement congratulating Special Counsel to the…

Gov. Scott Directs FDOT to Implement Evacuation and Fuel Capacity Improvements During Emergencies

ORLANDO, Fla. – Today, Governor Rick Scott directed the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to implement…






VIDEO: Black History Month Spotlight Bronze Kingdom Art Gallery Orlando

ORLANDO, Fla. (FNN NEWS) In celebration of Black History Month, Florida National News lifestyle reporter…

11 Little-Known Orlando Theme Park Experiences

ORLANDO, Fla., /Visit Orlando/ -- To celebrate the unparalleled collection of unique experiences that can be…

Busch Gardens Celebrates The Return Of Preschool Card With Sesame Street Safari Of Fun Pirate Parrrrrty!

TAMPA, Fla. – Back by popular demand, Florida preschoolers can now enjoy all Busch Gardens® Tampa…

SeaWorld Offers Free Admission for Florida Preschoolers

ORLANDO, Fla. – Now through December 31, 2018, Florida kids ages five and younger can…

Macklemore, Sean Paul and Fifth Harmony Among Stars Performing Live at Universal Orlando Resort’s 2018 Mardi Gras Celebration

ORLANDO, Fla. – Universal Orlando Resort today announced the headlining acts of its 2018 Mardi Gras…

Winners Announced for the 2018 Levitt AMP [Your City] Grant Awards

LOS ANGELES, (FNN NEWS) -- Today, the Mortimer & Mimi Levitt Foundation awarded $375,000 in matching grants…