The Big Winners from the 92nd Annual Academy Awards

LOS ANGELES, Ca. (FNN NEWS) – The 92nd Academy Awards lit up the Dolby Theater at the Hollywood & Highland Center and was televised in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide on Sunday February 9th, 2020. The highly anticipated award show had millions of film lovers tuned in to watch the alluring ceremony and see some of their favorite artists achieve the highest honors in filmmaking.

With a plethora of celebrity presenters, the Academy Awards decided to forgo a host for its second year in a row and there were still plenty of highlightable moments. The ceremony opened with a tribute to the legendary Mr. Rogers, performed by Janelle Monáe, singing “It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood.” Actress Laura Dern, won the Academy Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role and delivered a tear jerking speech, divulging her parents as her heroes.

Sir Elton John won the Academy Award for Music (Original Song) and delivered a noteworthy performance of his winning song, “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” from Rocketman.

Surprise guest Eminem, graced the stage with a rousing performance of “Lose Yourself,” for which he won an Academy Award for Best Original Song (8 Mile) in 2003.

The 2020 Academy Award for Short Film (Animated) went to “Hair Love.” Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver received their first Oscar for their film, which follows an African-American father as he learns to do his daughter’s hair for the first time. which stars actress Issa Rae as the voice of “Mom.”

The film that took home the most awards–while making Oscar history–was Parasite, winning Best Picture, Writing (Original Screenplay), Directing, and International Feature Film. Making history as the first non-English language film to win Best Picture, Writing (Original Screenplay), and Directing awards, it was also the first film from South Korea to be nominated for International Feature Film.


This Year’s Winners:

Best Picture – Parasite

Directing – Parasite

International Feature Film – Parasite

Writing (Original Screenplay) – Parasite

Writing (Adapted Screenplay) – Jojo Rabbit

Music (Original Song) – Sir Elton John, “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” from Rocketman

Music (Original Score) – Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker

Actor in a Leading Role – Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Actress in a Leading Role – Renee Zellweger, Judy

Actress in a Supporting Role – Laura Dern, Marriage Story

Actor in a Supporting Role – Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood

Production Design – Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood

Short Film (Animated) – “Hair Love”

Short Film (Live Action) – “The Neighbors’ Window”

Animated Feature Film – Toy Story 4

Cinematography – 1917

Sound Mixing – 1917

Visual Effects – 1917

Costume Design – Little Women

Documentary (Feature) – American Factory

Documentary (Short Subject) – “How to Skate in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)”

Film Editing – Ford vs. Ferrarri

Sound Editing – Ford vs. Ferrarri

Makeup and Hairstyling – Bombshell


Samantha Nicole and Mellissa Thomas contributed to this report. |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The United States Condemns Russian Cyber Attack Against the Country of Georgia

On October 28, 2019, the Russian General Staff Main Intelligence Directorate (GRU) Main Center for…

Haitian President Lays Out Terms for Deal with Opposition

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti (AP) — President Jovenel Moise said Friday that he is optimistic that negotiations…

Japan Finds 41 More Cases on Ship as Virus Alarm Doctor Dies

BEIJING (AP) — Japan on Friday reported 41 new cases of a virus on a…

Grenada Embassy to Celebrate Grenada’s 46th Independence Day at Historic Hall of the Americas

WASHINGTON, D.C. (FNN NEWS) - The Embassy of Grenada will ring in Grenada's 46th Independence…

Paris couture climbs Mount Olympus, plumbs marine depths

PARIS (AP) — Female empowerment, controversies about race, and designs that plunged to the depths…

Senate Passes US-Canada-Mexico Trade Deal, a Trump Priority

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Senate overwhelmingly approved a new North American trade agreement Thursday that…


  • “Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood” star Brad Pitt is all smiles on the 2019 Cannes Film Festival red carpet for the film's premiere Tuesday, May 21. Photo: Patience Eding/Another Concept Magazine/Florida National News.
    “Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood” star Brad Pitt is all smiles on the 2019 Cannes Film Festival red carpet for the film's premiere Tuesday, May 21. Photo: Patience Eding/Another Concept Magazine/Florida National News.