Florida House Democratic Caucus Picks Future Leadership

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Following the conclusion of the Special Session, the House Democratic Caucus elected future leadership for both the 2022-2024 and 2024-2026 legislative terms.


Representative Ramon Alexander (D-Tallahassee) will lead the caucus for the 2022-2024 term. He was elected unanimously by his peers to replace Representative Ben Diamond (D-St. Petersburg), who is departing the Florida legislature early to pursue a Congressional seat.

State Rep. Alexander is a nonprofit executive and Florida Agriculture and Mechanical University (FAMU) alumnus. He was elected to the Florida House in 2016 and is the first Tallahassee-area Representative to serve in a leadership role since Donald L. Tucker was Speaker of the House from 1974-1978. Representative Alexander is serving as the House Democratic Caucus Whip for the 2020-22 term.

Representative Fentrice Driskell (D-Tampa) was unanimously chosen to lead the caucus for the 2024-2026 term. She is an attorney, a Harvard and Georgetown graduate, and was elected to the House in 2018. Her election as leader is historic, as she is the first Black woman to lead the Caucus. Representative Driskell is serving as the House Democratic Caucus Policy Chair for the 2020-22 term.


House Democratic Caucus members provided the following statements following the Leader elections.


Florida House Democratic Caucus Co-Leader Bobby DuBose (D-Fort Lauderdale) issued the following statement:

“I congratulate my colleagues Representatives Ramon Alexander and Fentrice Driskell for rising to the task of leading our Caucus for their respective terms. I’m proud of our strong Caucus for coming together to make these important choices. The future of our Caucus is in extremely good hands. If their work ethic is any indication of their future success, then I strongly believe they will continue tirelessly fighting for all Floridians.”

Florida House Democratic Co-Leader Evan Jenne (D-Hollywood) issued the following statement:

“I’m proud of the choices this Caucus made today. By making Representatives Ramon Alexander and Fentrice Driskell Leader designates for the next two terms, they have made sure that strong, principled individuals will be at the forefront of our Caucus into the foreseeable future.”

State Rep. Ramon Alexander (D-Tallahassee) issued the following statement:

“I appreciate the trust that members have placed in me to serve in this role. I am confident that the election today shows a united House Democratic Caucus, and I am ready to lead the way to meet the challenges ahead.”

State Rep. Fentrice Driskell (D-Tampa) issued the following statement:

“I am honored the House Democratic Caucus elected me to be their Leader designate for the 2024-26 cycle. As Policy Chair, I worked hard to strengthen our Caucus through focused and inclusive leadership that led to increased unity within our ranks. It’s not lost on me that the Caucus chose to make history and elect the first Black woman to lead our Caucus. My colleagues have placed their trust in me, and now I look forward to rising to the occasion and working closely with them to continue making history for the betterment of Florida.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *